What You Should Know About the Price of First-Time DUI in the Show-Me State
Operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of at or above 0.08 percent is illegal in all 50 states. This action is considered a crime due to its dangerous nature and the threat it poses to the life of the driver as well as the lives of any passengers and other drivers on the road. Because of the risks associated with drinking and driving, all states have adopted penalties for this crime to help deter individuals from committing this crime and putting theirs and other lives at risk.
Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Missouri
For those who are facing a first-time Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense in the state of Missouri, they should be prepared to face the following penalties:
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines up to $500
- Driver’s license suspension of 30 days
- Possibility of having to use an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) to regain driving privileges
When it comes to the financial repercussions of DUI, the monetary fines associated with being convicted are not the only financial burden a driver must face. For example, if drivers are sentenced to time in jail, they will likely have to deal with a loss of wages and potentially the loss of their employment. If a driver’s license is suspended, they need to pay for public transportation to get around, and when an IID is required, they also need to pay for the device’s installation and maintenance.
Other Costs of First-Time DUI
When individuals are facing their very first DUI offense, they often want to fight the charges against them in court to keep the conviction of their record. The best way to accomplish this goal is to hire a knowledgeable DUI attorney to represent them in court – often, these professional services are not free and do not guarantee the driver’s case will be dismissed. In some cases, drivers may end up paying their attorney as well as their fines.
Should drivers be convicted of Driving Under the Influence, they may not be prepared for their car insurance rate to increase. Car insurance companies charge an annual rate to cover the risk of the driver making a claim against his or her insurance policy. When the risk of making a claim goes up, so does the annual car insurance rate. While every car insurance company has its own formula for raising a DUI driver’s car insurance rate, drivers in the state of Missouri should expect about a $400 increase.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019