The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles website includes some shocking information: the average cost of a first DUI in this state is $24,265. Few people can afford to hand over this much money for something they never should have done. Before drinking and driving in Alaska, consider how much a DUI conviction will cost. This should prevent anyone from becoming even a first-time offender.
First Conviction DUI Penalties in Alaska
The first time drivers are convicted of DUI, they lose their driver licenses for 90 days and are required to attend both an alcohol education and a treatment or assessment program. Court fines for first-time offenders are $1,500 plus a sentencing fee of at least $250. The vehicle will be impounded for 30 days and it will cost at least $600 to release it. If the court requires installation of an ignition interlock device in the vehicle, drivers face associated costs of at least $1,300 per year.
First-time DUI convictions also lead to auto insurance surcharges of thousands of dollars annually over multiple years. Even getting the driver license reinstated costs money. In Alaska, a DUI conviction remains on the driving record forever and if the driver injured or killed another individual, the emotional scars may also be permanent.
With a more than 56 percent decrease in alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 people between 2002 and 2012 and only 15 associated fatalities in 2012, Alaska may seem relatively untouched by drinking and driving. However, nearly 82 percent of these fatalities were caused by drivers with blood-alcohol content of at least 0.15 percent. For repeat DUI offenders, this statistic increased to 100 percent. Alaska is clearly not immune from the perils of drinking and getting behind the wheel.
Underage DUI in Alaska
In 2012, 28 individuals under age 18 were arrested for driving under the influence. Nearly 23 percent of 12 to 20 year-olds surveyed by Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility during 2011 and 2012 admitted to consuming alcohol within the prior month and 15 percent admitted to binge drinking during that period. Alaska has implemented multiple strategies to prevent underage drinking.
Alaska is one of the zero-tolerance states for underage drinking and driving. A driver younger than 21 whose blood-alcohol content exceeds 00.00 percent may be charged with Alaska DUI. First-time conviction penalties include 90-day driver license suspension, at least 72 hours in jail, a $1,500 fine, and possible termination of the auto insurance policy.
Get your free online review of your arrest situation for help with fast answers. There are ways to get out of and dismiss AK DUI charges in many cases, if legal help is sought in enough time.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018