The 2023 penalties for a DUI offense in Arizona can vary depending on the specific circumstances of the case, including the defendant’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of the offense, the presence of any aggravating factors, and whether the individual has any prior DUI convictions on record.
Here are the ten most probable state penalties to expect will happen that a person faces if convicted of a recent DUI offense in Arizona:
- Fines: The fines for a DUI offense in Arizona can range from $1,250 to $3,000 for a first offense, depending on the individual’s BAC and the presence of any aggravating factors. For a second offense, the fines can range from $3,000 to $5,000.
- Jail time: The jail time for a DUI offense in Arizona can range from 24 hours to six months for a first offense, depending on the defendant’s BAC and the presence of any aggravating factors. For a second offense, the jail time can range from 90 days to one year.
- License suspension: The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) may suspend the person’s driver’s license for 90 days for a first offense and for one year for a second offense.
- Alcohol education or treatment program: The defendant may be required to attend a local alcohol education DUI classes or treatment program as a condition of probation or as part of their sentence.
- Community service: The person may be required to perform community service as a condition of probation or as part of their sentence.
- Ignition interlock device: The individual may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle as a condition of probation or as part of their sentence.
- Vehicle impoundment: The defendant’s vehicle may be impounded as a result of the DUI offense.
- Increased insurance rates: The person’s car insurance rates may increase as a result of the DUI offense.
- Employment consequences: The individual’s employment may be affected by the DUI offense, particularly if they hold a commercial driver’s license or work in a job that requires them to drive as part of their duties.
- Social stigma: The defendant may face social stigma as a result of the DUI offense.
It is important to note that the definitive 2023 penalties for a recent DUI offense in Arizona may vary depending on the specific circumstances of every DUI defendant’s own case.
As local DUI attorney experts, our 24 hour free DUI arrest review is the most reputable online legal resource for specific and up-to-date information about the penalties for a DUI offense in Arizona you can expect for your own pending case and how to defeat and dismiss the recent charges in court.
Minimum First Conviction DUI Penalties in Arizona
An individual convicted of recent DUI charge for the first time in Arizona must pay fines of at least $1,250 and may need to perform community restitution. An initial DUI conviction in 2023 also calls for no less than ten days in jail. This jail sentence is not subject to suspension or probation unless served in its entirety. In some cases, a judge may suspend up to nine days if the individual completes an alcohol education, screening, or treatment program mandated by the court.
Administrative license suspension for a first-time DUI conviction is 90 days in Arizona. In addition, the Arizona Department of Public Safety requires an individual convicted of DUI to install an ignition interlock device. The court may require the device to remain on the vehicle for longer than 12 months following license suspension or receipt of the conviction report, whichever occurs later.
Drivers with blood-alcohol content of at least 0.08 percent are presumed to be under the influence of alcohol. Those with a concentration of 0.15 percent or more are considered to be under extreme influence. They are subject to harsher penalties including at least 30 days in jail, steeper fines, and loss of driving privileges for an extended period.
Underage DUI in Arizona
Drivers younger than 21 are considered underage and are subject to Arizona’s zero-tolerance DUI laws. This means that any blood-alcohol concentration can result in a DUI citation. An initial conviction results in the same amount of jail time as for majority age drivers, license suspension of between 90 and 360 days, and at least $1,600 in fines.
The law assumes that DUI offenders are innocent until proven guilty. All drivers should consult good DUI attorneys nearby before entering their pleas. Having a strong legal defense is particularly important for underage drivers due to the stricter standards and penalties imposed on this age group. Underage drinkers may also be charged with other offenses, such as distributing alcohol to underage passengers, which carry additional penalties that a good defense can avoid.
Taryn J. White is a legal research specialist and DUI law news reporter. Her current accomplishments include helping those facing any driving under the influence arrest charges, get free online assistance in learning how to fight a DUI case for the best possible outcome.