DUI violations in Delaware are handled through independent administrative and court proceedings, making things particularly difficult for offenders. Delaware is an implied consent state, meaning that drivers suspected of DUI are viewed as voluntarily agreeing to chemical testing. Failing to take this test subjects drivers to harsher penalties than those carried by standard DUI convictions.
First DUI Conviction Penalties in Delaware
If a chemical test reveals a 0.08 percent or greater blood-alcohol content (BAC), a driver can be convicted of DUI. However, a driver can be arrested for DUI if BAC is greater than only 0.05 percent. The arresting officer will take the driver license and issue a temporary license. To avoid losing driving privileges for at least three months, the driver must request a DMV administrative hearing within 15 days. An unfavorable ruling at an administrative hearing results in a three-month license suspension for an initial DUI.
First-time offenders may apply to a First Offense Election program at arraignment instead of standing trial. This application serves as admission of guilt, waives the right to a speedy trial, and if approved, the driver license will be revoked for at least one year. Drivers may request an IID Diversion option that allows them to drive after as short as one month if they participate in an alcohol evaluation, alcohol program, and have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles.
Delaware offers a unique alternative education program for DUI offenders who have emotional or mental issues. This program, designed to alter behaviors that could result in future DUI incidents, costs $750 and requires random urine screening that carries an additional costs. Fees are also imposed for missing individual or group sessions.
Underage DUI in Delaware
Drivers in Delaware who are younger than 21 and have consumed alcohol are subject to the state zero tolerance law, which mandates a two month driver license suspension. Drivers under age 18 with a BAC greater than 0.08 percent will have their licenses revoked until age 21. Those between ages 18 and 21 face a one-year revocation period.
Underage drivers caused three of the 34 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Delaware in 2012. Though no drivers under age 18 were arrested for driving under the influence that year, more than 27 percent of people ages 12 to 20 years old surveyed by SAMHSA admitted to alcohol consumption during 2011 and 2012. Seventeen percent admitted to binge drinking with 30 days of being surveyed, representing accidents waiting to happen, as drivers with high BAC are responsible for most fatal crashes.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018