Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is not a charge that anyone wants to have on his or her record. But, if a DUI or DWI charge does occur, the first offense DUI penalties that the offender will be punished with can vary from one state to the next. In some states, a DUI or DWI charge is considered a serious criminal action while other states treat it as a simple civil infraction. How the punishment is enforced will also vary, either by a judge or by law.
A first DUI or DWI offense in Mississippi carries a punishment of the offender having his or license suspended for a period of 90 days, two years, or five years. In addition to the license suspension, the offender will also be required to take alcohol and drug education classes, submit to a substance abuse assessment and possible treatment as well as having to use an ignition interlock device on his or her vehicle. Additionally, the offender’s vehicle will be confiscated after the third offense.
Penalties for First Underage DUI Offense in Mississippi
In the United States, only 10 percent of all licensed drivers are under the age of 21. This statistic is surprising when you take into account that underage drivers are responsible for almost 17 percent of all alcohol related fatal car accidents. Just like first offense penalties vary from one state to the next for adults, they also vary for underage offenders. The general punishment for an underage DUI includes a monetary fine, possible license suspension, and possible jail time.
In Mississippi, the legal drinking age is 21 and consuming alcohol under the legal drinking is prohibited. There are certain exceptions to this law however that should be noted. Individuals under the age of 21 are allowed to consume alcohol on private, non-alcohol selling premises with consent of a legal guardian, on alcohol-selling premises with the consent of a legal guardian, and for any government work, which may include working on research or working with law enforcement.
A first underage DUI offense in the state of Mississippi carries a punishment of up to two days in jail. A fine of between $250 and $1000 and a licenses suspension for a period of time ranging between 30 and 90 days, depending on the nature of the DUI charge. If the same individual is charged with a second DUI offense within 5 years, the punishment is then five days to one year in jail, a fine of between $600 and $1100, and a license suspension of up to two years.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018