Nevada is a party town and one’s first thought might be the state would be a bit more lenient on drunk driving since it is known around the world as home to one of the most popular party cities in the world. While cities like Las Vegas do allow open containers while walking around town, drinking and driving is still very much frowned upon. Drink and drive in Nevada and you may spend the better part of your vacation behind bars instead of enjoying everything this beautiful state has to offer.
First DUI Conviction Penalties in Nevada
If you are arrested and charged for DUI in the state of Nevada, keep in mind this state is an “implied consent” state. In the state of Nevada, refusal to submit a blood sample immediately gives the officer permission to use “reasonable force” to obtain a blood sample. One way or another, the officers are going to get the sample, so it may be in your best interest to submit the sample and allow your DUI attorney to deal with the aftermath.
You can expect to spend anywhere from two days to 60 days in jail. Fines for first time violations are also rather high, as you can expect to pay between $400 and $1,000. As it is in most states, the convicted will receive a 90-day license suspension and may be required to have an ignition interlock device, also called an IID, installed on his or her car.
What is Considered DUI in Nevada?
As it is everywhere in the country, underage drinking is frowned upon. However, there is some leeway for underage drinkers concerning a DUI in Nevada. While some states consider any alcohol in the system a DUI for underage drivers, Nevada’s threshold is .02 percent. All legal-aged drivers, excluding commercial drivers, will fail with a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher. Commercial drivers have zero leeway, with a .00 percent blood alcohol level permitted.
Do I Need a Nevada DUI Attorney?
Defendants may want to consider a lesser conviction with a “wet reckless” plea. Pleas can be difficult, and it is not advised to attempt this on your own, especially if you are from out of town. To secure a good, local lawyer, fill out the free case evaluation form to get connected to DUI attorneys in Nevada. Your chances of pleading to a lesser charge or beating the case outright are significantly enhanced when an attorney specializing in DUI law is on your side.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019