The great state of New Hampshire is known for its beautiful fall foliage and incredible snow activities, such as skiing, snowboarding, and snowmobiling. The state sees significant tourist traffic, so it is no surprise the DUI laws in New Hampshire are relatively harsh compared to some other states. While the fine amounts tend to be lower, the rest of the penalties should surely be enough to warrant second thoughts before taking a drink and getting behind the wheel.
First DUI Conviction Penalties in New Hampshire
Whereas many states will only require a two-day stay in jail if convicted, New Hampshire actually has a 10-day minimum sentence. This is fairly significant, with subsequent convictions resulting in dramatically longer jail sentences. As stated above, the fines are fairly reasonable, ranging from $500 to $700 for first time offenders. Anyone convicted will also face a license suspension ranging from nine months to 18 months, but an interlock ignition device is not required for first time offenders.
Like many states today, New Hampshire has an “implied consent” law. By refusing to take the mandated chemical tests, you will face an automatic 180-day license suspension for the first DUI offense in New Hampshire. Please realize that this suspension will stick regardless of whether or not you are convicted. Second and third offenders refusing to take the chemical tests will automatically receive a two-year license suspension.
What is Considered Intoxicated in New Hampshire?
Any driver of age that is not driving a commercial vehicle is considered intoxicated if his or her blood alcohol level is found to be .08 percent or higher. Commercial drivers are given less leeway, as they are considered intoxicated with a blood alcohol level of .04 percent or higher. Underage drivers are permitted only .02 percent before they will be considered intoxicated.
Should I Hire a New Hampshire DUI Lawyer if I am Arrested?
If you are arrested and fail the chemical tests, you are best served to hire a skilled, local DUI attorney rather than face the charges on your own or depend on a court appointed attorney. Local attorneys specializing in DUI law are more familiar with the laws and will generally have much lighter caseloads than court appointed lawyers. With a plea bargain of “wet reckless” a very real possibility for borderline cases, you will not want to leave anything to chance. Fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form for more information as well as a complete listing of recommended DUI lawyers in New Hampshire.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019