New York is one of the higher-ranking states for DUI laws, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD). The state is rated four out of a possible five stars, with MADD hoping it improves its no-refusal legislation to earn the coveted 5-star rating. While seeing some improvement, overall New York seems to be holding steady in overall alcohol related accidents and fatalities in recent years.
New York DUI by the Numbers (based on 2012 overall numbers)
From 2002 to 2012, New York realized a 1.6 percent drop in alcohol related fatalities. The real improvement in this category was the under 21 age category, as the state saw an impressive 35.6 percent improvement.
While 2012 had 344 alcohol related fatalities, that number rose to 387 in 2013. Almost 45 percent of those fatalities were a sober driver in another vehicle, pedestrian, passenger, or cyclist. Unlike many other states, a significant portion of the fatal crashes in New York involved a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .14 percent (41.7 percent).
DUI First Offense Penalties in New York
At this time, first time offenders are not required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on their vehicle. However, this is mandatory for second and third time offenders. All first year DUI in New York offenses are listed below, but please note these fines and penalties are significantly escalated for repeat offenders.
- Jail – up to one year
- License Suspension – minimum revocation of six months
- Monetary Fines – as little as $500 but no more than $1,000
New York is an implied consent state. By refusing to take the chemical tests, the driver will have a forced one-year suspension regardless of the outcome of his or her case.
Should You Hire a DUI Attorney if Arrested and Charged in New York?
As we briefly touched on above, the fines and penalties go up significantly in New York. Because the state is an implied consent state, many drivers will automatically take the chemical tests and hope their attorney can find some type of mistake or “hole” in the prosecutor’s case. With wet reckless off the table in this state and escalating fines, it is virtually mandatory that anyone arrested in New York for DUI hire a DUI Attorney. FightDUICharges.com is the perfect place to start for all first time DUI offenders in New York. This site offers a free case evaluation, more state specific information, and listings for local DUI attorneys.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018