Recent legislation changes in Oregon DUI laws have received much praise by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), but the state still only has a three-star rating from the organization. In order to increase this rating, MADD would like to see tougher laws against checkpoints and no-refusals. Even so, the state seems to be headed in the right direction, showing a dramatic decrease in DUI statistics.
Oregon DUI by the Numbers (based on 2012 overall numbers)
The decrease in fatalities over this ten-year span is very impressive. Oregon sports a huge decrease in driving fatalities and only a 2.2 fatality rate per 100,000 residents.
- 13,592 total DUI arrests (78 from under-21 drivers)
- 86 total alcohol-related fatalities (10 from under-21 drivers)
- 42.6 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities
- 52.9 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities for under-21 drivers
- 61.8 percent of fatalities involved a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15+
- 50 percent of repeat offenders had a BAC of .15+
DUI First Offense Penalties in Oregon
Oregon boasts some of the largest monetary fines and mandatory suspensions for DUI convictions in the country. First time offenders are facing very stiff penalties if convicted in this state. Oregon uses a 1-year washout rule when enforcing its DUI penalties and fines.
- Monetary fines as low as $1,000 and as much as $2,000
- Mandatory IID required
- Minimum of two days and up to one year in jail
- Mandatory license suspension of one year
Oregon is an implied consent state. While you can refuse to take chemical test, doing so will result in an automatic suspension of your license for a period of one year with a minimum fine of $500 (maximum $1,000). These penalties are in place regardless of whether or not you win your DUI case in court.
Should You Hire a DUI Attorney if Arrested and Charged in Oregon?
While you may be able to plead to “wet reckless” in many states, this is not possible in Oregon. With such severe penalties in place and massive escalations for repeat offenders, it is highly recommended to hire a DUI lawyer in Oregon if you are arrested and charged. Before hiring an attorney, you can use FightDUICharges.com for a free evaluation of your case to see the best course of action. You will also be able to find recommendations for DUI attorneys licensed to practice in Oregon.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019