South Carolina is known of its beautiful golf courses, which brings tens of thousands of tourists here every year for a golf getaway. It is no secret that some golfers like to enjoy a beverage or two on the course, but then who is going to drive? Before you get behind the wheel after a round and a few libations, consider the first offense DUI penalties in South Carolina.
South Carolina DUI by the Numbers (based on 2012 overall numbers)
South Carolina has a very high rate of fatalities per 100,000 residents (7.6). In fact, even the under-21 fatalities rate is rather high compared to other parts of the country (2.8). It is no wonder law enforcement is being encouraged to increase penalties from organizations like Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) that would also like to see mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) laws in place.
- 17,906 total DUI arrests (99 from under-18 drivers)
- 357 total alcohol-related fatalities (36 from under-21 drivers)
- 29.9 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities
- 48.8 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities for under-21 drivers
- 74.7 percent of fatalities involved a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15+
- 81.1 percent of repeat offenders had a BAC of .15+
DUI First Offense Penalties in South Carolina
While there is no mandatory IID required for a first time DUI offense in South Carolina, all other aspects of penalties are fairly significant for first time offenders:
- Monetary fines from $400 to $1,000
- No mandatory IID
- Minimum of 48 hours and a maximum of 90 days in jail
- Mandatory license suspension of six months
South Carolina is an implied consent state. If you refuse to take the requested chemical tests, your license will be suspended for six months.
The South Carolina “washout” or “look back” period is ten years.
Should You Hire a DUI Attorney if Arrested and Charged in South Carolina?
DUI in any state is a very serious matter and something that can affect the rest of your life, both professionally and personally. With so much on the line, you have to ask yourself, “Do I really want to walk into a courtroom facing a prosecutor for such a serious matter without the help of a good DUI attorney?” More than likely, that answer is, “No.” To find a local attorney, visit FightDUICharges.com today. In addition to finding information for attorneys, you will also be able to learn more about DUI law and submit your case for a free evaluation.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019