Drink and drive in Tennessee and you are facing significant monetary fines and 2021 penalties if convicted in court of a 1st offense DUI. The escalation is also rather significant, so repeat offenders are at risk for both personal and professional repercussions. See below for more information for first DUI offense penalties in Tennessee.
Tennessee DUI by the Numbers (based on state overall numbers)
Tennessee has made a concentrated effort to reduce drunk driving in the state, earning a 4-star rating from Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD). Considering the size of the state, overall arrests were very reasonable, but the ratio of fatalities to 100,000 residents is still rather high (4.6:100,000).
- 26,858 total DUI arrests (146 from under-18 drivers)
- 295 total alcohol-related fatalities (27 from under-21 drivers)
- 31 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities
- 62 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities for under-21 drivers
- 73.8 percent of fatalities involved a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15+
- 85 percent of repeat offenders had a BAC of .15+
DUI First Offense Penalties in Tennessee
Tennessee first time offenders face significant fines and penalties. There is mandatory jail time as well as an ignition interlock device (IID) installation. Below are the fines and penalties as of this writing:
- Monetary fines ranging from $350 to $1,500
- Mandatory IID required
- Minimum 48-hour jail sentence with a maximum of 11 months
- One-year mandatory license suspension
Tennessee does have an implied consent rule, so there are additional penalties and fines in place for refusing to take this test. These fines are in effect regardless of the overall outcome of the case. For first time offenders, the license will be revoked for a period of one year. Revocation differs from suspension in that you lose your license completely and must retake all driving tests and exams before it can be reinstated.
Tennessee has a 10-year washout period for repeat offenders.
Should You Hire a DUI Attorney if Arrested and Charged in Tennessee?
Facing significant fines and penalties, it is recommended that anyone arrested in Tennessee seek out the advice of an attorney to help fight the charges. A local attorney will have better knowledge of the local DUI laws and may be able to plead you out to lesser charges (wet reckless) if no children and/or injuries were involved (this is sometimes an option for drivers that are right on the borderline for a DUI violation). For more information about Tennessee DUI attorneys, please fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form.
- Getting a DUI While Parked or Sleeping in Your Car - April 11, 2021
- I Just Got a DUI and Need My License for Work to Keep My Job. What Can I Do to Drive After DUI? - April 10, 2021
- Do You Go to Jail for a DUI, DWI? - April 9, 2021
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - April 8, 2021
- What Are My Chances of Beating a First Offense DUI Case? - April 7, 2021
- How to Find a Good DUI Lawyer – Everything You Need to Know Not to Get a Bad DUI Attorney - April 6, 2021
- I Was Arrested for DUI, but Don’t Have a Court Date Yet. How Long do the Police Have to Charge Me With a DUI Offense? - April 19, 2019
- What Happens if I Can’t Afford to Hire a DUI Lawyer? - April 15, 2019
- How to Get Rid of a DUI, Clear a DUI Charge From Haunting Your Life in 2021 - April 14, 2019
- How Can I Beat a DUI, DWI Charge on a Technicality if There are Police Report Errors? - April 5, 2019