Wyoming falls into the middle of the pack in terms of DUI law, but some aspects of the state’s penalties and fines structure are among the toughest in the country. The state seems to be very active in wanting to continue to crack down on DUI violators as well as improve its legislation concerning drinking and driving
Wyoming DUI by the Numbers (based on 2013 numbers)
Overall, Wyoming has seen significant progress in its DUI numbers. However, even with these improvements, the state fatality rate is well over the national average (4.3:100,000). The under-21 fatality rate is also very high, more than doubling the national average.
- 3,893 total DUI arrests (49 from under-18 drivers)
- 25 total alcohol-related fatalities (4 from under-21 drivers)
- 4 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities
- 8 percent decrease in alcohol-related fatalities for under-21 drivers
- 7 percent of fatalities involved a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15+
- 100 percent of repeat offenders had a BAC of .15+
DUI First Offense Penalties in Wyoming
Fines and penalties for first-time DUI violators are about average when compared to the rest of the country. However, these fines and penalties increase rather significantly for repeat offenders, so you should pursue help to avoid a conviction:
- Monetary fines up to $750
- Mandatory IID required for any first time violator with a BAC of .15+
- Up to six months in jail
- License suspension of 90 days
Like all other states, Wyoming is an implied consent state. While you can refuse to take chemical tests if you are arrested, doing so means you automatically face a license suspension of six months. All repeat offenders refusing to submit to the testing will face an 18-month suspension
Wyoming has a 10-year washout period for repeat offenders.
Should You Hire a DUI Attorney if Arrested and Charged in Wyoming?
What can you do to fight DUI charges if you are arrested and charged in Wyoming? The first thing you need to do is hire an attorney. There are two different ways a good attorney can help you. First, he or she may find some flaws in the prosecutor’s case and possibly have the charges dismissed. If that is not possible but your case falls on the borderline, he or she may be able to plead out the case to a lesser charge, such wet reckless. For more information about Wyoming DUI attorneys, please fill out the Free Review Form to get your arrest details examined.
- How Can I Beat a DUI/DWI Case without a Lawyer? - January 20, 2019
- How Long Do I Need To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed for a First DUI Offense? - January 19, 2019
- Can You be Charged With a DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Legal Prescription Medication? - January 19, 2019
- What’s Your Chances of Beating a DUI Case with No Breath Test? - January 18, 2019
- Military DUI: What to Do for a DUI in the Armed Forces & How to Get Out of a DUI in the Military - January 18, 2019
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019