New Jersey is making strides in DUI enforcement but according to a report released by MADD in 2010, the state still falls short of expectations. Garnering only two out of a possible five stars, the organization obviously thinks there is still significant work that needs to be done. However, the downward trend in DUI fatalities from 2002 to 2012 (down by 18.4 percent) at least shows that New Jersey is headed in the right direction.
New Jersey DUI by the Numbers (based on 2012 statistics)
- 164 fatalities, 18 of which were underage drivers
- 18.4% 10-year improvement (under 21 improved by 23.5%)
- 64.5% of fatal crashes involved a driver with a BAC of .15+
- 83.3% of fatal crashes involved repeat offenders
- 25,697 total arrests (229 of which were under the age of 18)
The most disturbing of these numbers is the repeat offender percentage. By simply looking at these numbers, it is clear why MADD thinks New Jersey needs tougher first-time offense penalties to dissuade repeat offenders, especially concerning first-time offenders exceeding a blood alcohol content of .15 percent.
New Jersey First Offense DUI Penalties and Fines
One area where MADD has recommended an improvement in the New Jersey DUI penalties is the need for a mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) on the first offense. Currently, for all violations, installation is at the discretion of the judge, not mandatory. Below you will find a summary of all fines and penalties for first time offenders:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Fines ranging from $250 to $500
- Mandatory license suspension from three months to one year
- IID installation at the discretion of the judge
- Additional $500 in fines ($100 each for various funds and fees)
New Jersey is also an implied consent state. Anyone refusing to take the mandated chemical test will automatically receive a 7-month license suspension regardless of the outcome of the case in court.
Do You Need a New Jersey DUI Attorney for a First Offense?
We always recommend an attorney when it comes to legal matters such as this. It is very difficult to know all legalities unless you actually have a legal background. Furthermore, in New Jersey, there is a chance of being able to plead to a lesser charge, known as wet reckless, which could result in a reduction of charges, fines, and penalties. For more information regarding NJ DUI laws, a free case evaluation, and information on local attorneys, please fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form Now!
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018