A DUI conviction is not supposed to be something an individual “gets used to.” In fact, driving under the influence of alcohol is not something anyone should ever do. However, people make mistakes and unfortunately, some do not learn their lessons the first time or are unfairly arrested a second time for DUI, DWI.
Repeat DUI offenders find themselves in a déjà vu situation that includes serious penalties which will include a longer period with an ignition interlock device – up to 24 months if convicted of a 2nd offense. For defendants in dire financial situations to fight a second DUI, DWI case, trusted local free DUI law offices are often an ideal option with good pro bono defense attorneys that can also possibly help with ignition interlock device alternatives in pending cases.
Ignition Interlock Device Requirement
When a court charges an individual with DUI, it may require the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). This mechanism sits on the dashboard and the driver must blow into it before attempting to start the car. If the breath-alcohol content falls within a predetermined range, the vehicle ignition starts and the individual may drive the car. Periodically, the driver will need to blow into the device and meet the breath-alcohol standards or the ignition will shut down.
Many state DUI laws allow courts to require IID installation after an initial DUI conviction. Almost all states include this penalty for two-time DUI offenders. Arizona, Connecticut, and Georgia are among the handful of states that reserve IID installation as a penalty for a repeat conviction. Only Alabama, South Dakota, and Vermont do not include IID installation in the list of potential DUI penalties.
Length of IID Installation
Having an IID device in the car is a burden and it is also expensive. The driver must pay for installation, monthly rental, and the cost to maintain and calibrate the device. This can amount to hundreds or thousands of dollars during the court-imposed installation period. Some drivers opt to sell their cars and instead walk or take public transportation in order to avoid the expense and inconvenience.
The amount of time an IID device must be in place varies by state. Alaska imposes an installation period of at least 12 months for a second DUI conviction. Being convicted of two DUIs within five years in Hawaii subjects an individual to two years with an IID installed in the vehicle. An individual convicted of a second DUI in Connecticut within ten years of the first is required to drive with an IID for three years.
IID installation takes place after the driver license has been suspended or revoked for months or even years. At this point, many individuals just want to get back on the roads with no restrictions. Drivers who believe they were unjustly charged with a second DUI should use DUIRights.com to find a lawyer who can help them avoid convictions that require IID installation.
Taryn J. White is a legal research specialist and DUI law news reporter. Her current accomplishments include helping those facing any driving under the influence arrest charges, get free online assistance in learning how to fight a DUI case for the best possible outcome.