Driving under the influence of alcohol is one of many crimes regulated at the state level. Typical penalties include suspension or revocation of the driver license, alcohol assessment or education, and fines. Most states impose harsher penalties for repeat offenders, making it even more important to fight unfair charges.
Recency of Prior Conviction
Many states take repeat DUI convictions more seriously if the initial conviction occurred less than five years in the past. They view this as a pattern of behavior that should be addressed to prevent future DUIs that can harm property, the driver, or other individuals. A repeat DUI coupled with another driving infraction, such as transporting a child or exceeding the speed limit by 20 to 30 miles, can substantially increase the penalties. Additional consequences of multiple DUI convictions within a short time include skyrocketing auto, health, and life insurance rates and a tarnished name in the community.
Second DUI License Suspension
Most states suspend or revoke the driver license beginning with the first DUI conviction and increase the suspension period for subsequent convictions. For individuals convicted of second DUIs, driver license suspension or revocation period is typically one year. However, in Connecticut and Georgia, drivers convicted of a second DUI may lose their licenses for three years, which can severely limit their employability.
Other states fall somewhere in the middle, with Arkansas, Mississippi, New Jersey, Tennessee, and Washington imposing a two-year license suspension period for individuals convicted of a second DUI. Indiana, Minnesota, and Texas, on the other hand, impose a maximum license suspension period of 180 days. Arizona has a 90-day license suspension period for two-time DUI offenders.
Other Second DUI Penalties
Second-time offenders may also have their vehicles confiscated and may be required to install ignition interlock devices that prevent their cars from starting if blood-alcohol content exceeds a predetermined level. Other penalties include increasing periods of community service and thousands of dollars in fines. These penalties tend to be discretionary, so they vary widely between states.
Time in jail is the most severe penalty imposed on a DUI offender. Second-time convictions almost always require some time behind bars. If the driver injured or killed another individual, a lengthy period of incarceration may be imposed. Anyone charged with a second DUI should consult an attorney through FightDUICharges.com to immediately begin building a strong defense. Preventing a second DUI conviction avoids harsh consequences, including time in jail.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018