Information on Ignition Interlock Devices in the Gem State of ID
Idaho Falls, Boise, Nampa, Pocatello, Caldwell, Moscow, Twin Falls, Meridian, and all other cities in the Idaho have the same DUI an ID Ignition Interlock laws that govern drinking and driving. Government research has found that individuals with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent are considered to be impaired, and driving with this high of a BAC can result in being charged and tried for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Additionally, minors driving with a BAC of 0.02 and commercial drivers with a BAC of 0.04 percent will also be charged with DUI.
The state of Idaho enforces a number of different penalties for those convicted of DUI. Often times, these punishments include spending time in jail, having to pay high monetary fines, serving a driver’s license suspension, and possibly having to get an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed to be able to drive at all. These punishments are varied as a means to greatly discourage DUI offenders from offending again in the future. However after a recent DUI arrest can be properly examined online with us, there may be potential ways found for how to avoid an Ignition Interlock from having to be installed in Idaho, as well as prevent a license suspension when a DUI conviction can be prevented.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Idaho?
In addition to having varied types of penalties for those convicted of DUI, the state of Idaho also enacts harsher penalties for those with previous drinking and driving offenses within the past 10 years. First time DUI offenders in the state of Idaho face penalties such as:
- Spending Up to Six Months in Jail
- Paying Monetary Fines Up to $1,000
- Serving a License Suspension of Between 90 and 180 Days
Second time DUI offenders, or those with another drinking and driving offense in the last 10 years, face more severe penalties. Second time DUI offenders in the state of Idaho face penalties including:
- Spending Between 10 Days and One Year in Jail
- Paying Monetary Fines Up to $2,000
- Serving a License Suspension of One Year
- Being Required to Use an IID
Third time DUI offenders, or those with two drinking and driving offenses in the last 10 years, face even more severe penalties including:
- Spending Between 30 Days and Five Years in Jail
- Paying Monetary Fines Up to $5,000
- Serving a License Suspension of Between One and Five Years
- Being Required to Use an IID
Does Idaho Enforce an Implied Consent Law?
Like most of the other states across the country, the state of Idaho enforces what is called an “implied consent law.” Under this law, those individuals who are issued a driver’s license in the state of Idaho automatically consent to having chemical testing performed when their BAC needs to be determined. This testing can be performed as a Breathalyzer test, a urine test, or a blood test. For individuals who refuse to have testing performed, they face monetary fines and an automatic license suspension that varies based on previous offenses.
First time offenders who refuse to have testing performed pay a $250 fine and have their driver’s license suspended for a period of one year. Second time offenders also have to pay a $250 fine and have their license suspended for a period of two years. Third time offenders pay the same $250 fine, but also have their driver’s license suspended for three years. Additionally, offenders may have the option to use an IID and a restricted driver’s license for a period of time in lieu of having their license suspended – often the IID period is longer than the suspension.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device and How Does the Program Work in Idaho?
Depending on the circumstances surrounding the case, the court may order a DUI offender to install, use, and maintain an Ignition Interlock device in Idaho. This device works very much like a traditional Breathalyzer in that it registers the user’s BAC when he or she blows into the device. An Ignition Interlock device or IID, also called a car Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID), integrates the vehicle’s ignition system with the Breathalyzer technology and is mounted on to the dashboard of an offender’s vehicle and any other vehicles he or she may use or are registered in their name.
When offenders are ready to drive, they are required to blow into the IID for the vehicle to start. Should the offender’s BAC register lower than the predetermined threshold – which is usually set at 0.04 percent – the vehicle starts and operate as usual. In situations where the offender’s BAC registers higher than the predetermined threshold, the vehicle does not start and the ignition locks. In some cases, when a high BAC is registered, a report is generated and sent to either the court or the DMV. Additionally, some IIDs require “spot checks” of the offender’s BAC while driving.
When is Using an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Idaho?
Legislation in the state of Idaho outlines that IIDs are required for certain individuals convicted of Idaho DUI or another drinking and driving charge. Courts are required to issue an order for the installation and use of an IID as a condition of reinstatement for the offender’s driver’s license in the following circumstances:
– Second of Subsequent DUI Offenders Under the Age of 21 – Not Less than One Year of IID Use After the Mandatory License Suspension Period has Passed
– All Second Time DUI Offenders with BAC of 0.02 Percent at Time of Arrest
– All Third Time and Subsequent DUI Offenders
Who is Responsible for Paying for the cost an Ignition Interlock Device in Idaho?
In almost all DUI cases ending in conviction and an order for using an IID, DUI offenders are responsible for paying all of the costs associated with using the Ignition Interlock device in Idaho. In the state of ID, a person convicted of a first DUI offense should expect to pay upwards of $100 for the device’s installation and between $70 and $120 a month to lease the car Breathalyzer interlock device. It is important to keep in mind these numbers are just rough estimates – each IID provider has different fees associated with leasing the device, and some providers even offer free installation.
What is the Process of Obtaining an Ignition Interlock Device in Idaho?
When an order for the installation of an Ignition Interlock is been given by the court, offenders need to seek the assistance of an approved IID provider for the state of Idaho. There are a number of state approved IID providers, and a full list of these providers can be found on the Idaho DMV website. Once the device has been obtained from the approved provider and installed professionally, offenders need to provide proof of installation to the court and/or the DMV – this usually takes the form of a copy of the IID lease agreement as well as a receipt showing the IID was professionally installed. When a Idaho Ignition Interlock attorney reviews a driver’s own arrest details online with us, they can then be in a proper position to inform a person driver of what possible ways are available for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock device installed in:[column col=”1/4″]Ada County
Bear Lake County
Nez Perce County
Twin Falls County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Aberdeen
Coeur d Alene
Fernan Lake Village
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Fruitland
Lava Hot Springs
Mountain Home AFB
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Mud Lake