Information on Car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock Devices in the Sooner State of OK
The laws that govern driving under the influence and requiring the Oklahoma Ignition Interlock device to be installed after a conviction, are the same across all its cities including Tulsa, Edmond, Norman, Oklahoma City, Stillwater, Broken Arrow, Moore, and Shawnee. Anyone found to be driving a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more will be arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). For those who are then convicted of this crime, they face a number of punishments including a driver’s license suspension, fines, time in jail, and the possibility of using an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
A BAC of 0.08 percent is the standard for being charged with drinking and driving in the State of OK almost all 50 states. Government research was conducted to determine the effects of alcohol on an individual’s ability to drive – most drivers were too impaired to operate a vehicle with a BAC of 0.05 percent, and all drivers were too impaired with a BAC of 0.08 percent, hence the standard set in most states. Additionally, the state of Oklahoma charges commercial drivers with DUI should their BAC be at or above 0.04 percent, and there is a “no tolerance” policy for minors. It is important to note that even a conviction for a first DUI offense will likely involve having to install the car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock device as part of the required penalties under the strict new laws.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Oklahoma?
As outlined above, there are a number of penalties associated with DUI convictions in the state of Oklahoma. This variety of punishments is used to help discourage offenders from participating in this dangerous behavior again while also acting as an example for others. First time DUI offenders face some of the following penalties should they be convicted:
- Five Days to One Year in Jail
- OK Driver’s License Suspension of 30 Days
- Fines of Up to $1,000
- Installation of the Ignition Interlock
Repeat DUI offenders face harsher penalties than those on their first offense. Oklahoma currently enforces a 10-year lookback period, which means any previous DUI convictions in the last 10 years are counted against the offender’s current charge. Second time DUI offenders, or those with one previous DUI conviction in the last 10 years, face some of the following penalties should they be convicted:
- One to Five Years in Jail
- Driver’s License Suspension of Six Months
- Fines of Up to $2,500
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Required for an Oklahoma Driver’s License Reinstatement
Third time DUI offenders, or those with two previous DUI convictions in the last 10 years, face some of the following penalties should they be convicted:
- One to 10 Years in Jail
- Driver’s License Suspension of One Year
- Fines of Up to $5,000
- DUI Interlock Required for Driver’s License Reinstatement
What is an Ignition Interlock Device, and How Does It Work With Oklahoma DUI Laws?
An OK DUI Interlock is a device installed on the dashboard of a DUI offender’s vehicle. This device is used as a means to deter individuals from drinking and driving and works much like the Breathalyzer devices used by law enforcement. Before the vehicle can be started, individuals need to provide a breath sample into the device. Should the sample be above the pre-programmed threshold, generally calibrated at 0.02 percent BAC, the device prohibits the vehicle from starting. Conversely, should the sample be below the threshold, the vehicle starts normally.
Depending on the circumstances surrounding the case, it may be possible for the device to be programmed to require random retesting while the vehicle is in motion. When the device requests the retest, offenders must provide one – should this retested sample be above the pre-programmed threshold, an alarm sounds and the event is logged in the device’s memory. This alarm continues to sound until the vehicle has been turned off, but the Ignition Interlock device does not stop the vehicle in any way. This is meant to prevent a third party from providing the initial sample when the vehicle is started.
When is Using an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Oklahoma?
The state of Oklahoma is able to authorize the use of IIDs for offenders convicted of DUI or other drinking and driving related crimes. Courts order the installation and maintenance of IIDs as a means for offenders to have their driving privileges reinstated. IIDs can be authorized for the following 3 types of OK DUI offenders:
1. Offenders convicted of “Aggravated Driving” whose BAC was more than 0.15 percent:
Ignition Interlock use is required for a minimum of 30 days.
2. Offenders who refused chemical testing to determine BAC:
IID installation is required for a minimum of 30 days.
3. Offenders on their second DUI conviction:
Ignition Interlock device use is required for a minimum of four years or until the offender’s driving privileges were originally scheduled to be reinstated, whichever comes first.
Who is Responsible for Paying for the Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device in Oklahoma?
In the state of Oklahoma, convicted DUI offenders are responsible for paying all costs associated with the installation and maintenance of an Ignition Interlock device when they are ordered by the court to use one. Individuals should be prepared to pay around $100 to have the device installed in their vehicle as well as between $75 and $125 a month to lease the device. Keep in mind these are just rough cost estimates – some IID providers may charge more or less to lease the device, and some providers even offer free installation when the device is leased from their company.
What is the Process of Obtaining an Ignition Interlock Device in Oklahoma?
Once an OK DUI offender has been authorized to get and install an Ignition Interlock device as a means to have their driver’s license reinstated, the court generally gives them a window of time to have the leasing and installation process completed. First, individuals need to lease the IID from a state approved provider– these companies can be found across the state of Oklahoma, and a full list of state approved IID providers can be found on the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission website. It is important to ensure the Interlock provider is State of OK approved.
After the car Breathalyzer Interlock device has been leased from one of these state approved providers, individuals also have to ensure the device is professionally and properly installed – most often, the provider is able to install the Interlock device to these standards. Once this is completed, it is not uncommon for individuals to have to report back to the judge, the court, their probation officer, and/or the DMV to inform them the process is completed. At this time, the court authorizes offenders to have their driving privileges reinstated, and they are able to drive with the IID. When an Oklahoma Ignition Interlock lawyer reviews a driver’s own arrest circumstances online with us, afterwards they will be in the proper position to inform a person of what possible ways are available for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock device in:[column col=”1/4″]Adair County
Le Flore County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]McClain County
Roger Mills County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Claremore
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Purcell