Information on the Ignition Interlock Device Requirement in the Beaver State of OR
Salem, Portland, Eugene, Bend, Beaverton, Corvallis, Oregon City, Lincoln City, and all other cities in the state of Oregon have the same DUI and OR Ignition Interlock device laws when it comes to the crime of drinking and driving. Any driver operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). A DUI conviction carries a number of different punishments and penalties that include, but are not limited to, a driver’s license suspension, jail time, fines, and the possibility of having to use an IID in order to get a suspended driver’s license back.
A BAC of 0.08 percent is the cut off for most states across the country. The reason for this is government research that determined the BAC level in which drivers are too impaired to drive. Most drivers were too impaired to operate a vehicle when their BAC reached 0.05 percent, and all drivers were too impaired to operate a vehicle when their BAC reached 0.08 percent. Additionally, the state of Oregon charges commercial drivers with DUI when their BAC is at or above 0.04 percent, and there is a “zero tolerance” policy for drivers under the age of 21. The essential first step in finding the best OR DUI defense strategy which may provide the solution for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock installed, is to have the arrest details examined online with us as soon as possible.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Oregon?
As mentioned above, the state of Oregon uses a number of different penalties to punish those convicted of DUI. This variety of punishments is meant to discourage offenders from repeating the behavior in the future and also act as an example to other individuals who may be tempted to drink and drive. First time DUI offenders in the state of Oregon, or those with no previous drinking and driving offenses, could face some or all of the following penalties:
- OR Driver’s License Suspension of One Year
- Fines Between $1,000 and $2,000
- 48 Hours to One Year in Jail
- Having to Install an Ignition Interlock to Get a Suspended License Back
2nd DUI offense or repeat offenders of this crime face much harsher penalties than first time offenders. Oregon currently has a number of different lookback periods for DUI offenders, which range from five to 15 years depending on the circumstances surrounding the case. Second time DUI offenders in the state of Oregon, or those with one previous DUI arrest conviction, could face some or all of the following penalties:
- Driver’s License Suspension of Three Years
- Fines Between $2,000 and $10,000
- Up to One Year in Jail
- Having to Get an Interlock Device Installed for Driver’s License Reinstatement
Third time DUI offenders in the state of Oregon, or those with two previous drinking and driving offenses, could face some or all of the following penalties:
- Permanent Driver’s License Suspension
- Fines Between $2,000 and $10,000
- Up to Five Years in Jail
What is an Ignition Interlock Device and How Does It Work Under New Oregon DUI Laws?
An Ignition Interlock device in Oregon is a mechanical device most often installed on the dashboard of a DUI or other drinking and driving related crime offender’s car. This device works much in the same way as the Breathalyzer device machine used by law enforcement officers and is used to prevent offenders from drinking and driving. Before individuals can start the car, they need to blow into the device to provide a breath sample – should this sample register above the predetermined threshold, usually set at 0.02 percent BAC, the vehicle is not able to start.
In some cases, the OR DUI Interlock is also set to require offenders to provide additional breath samples once the vehicle has started. When prompted, drivers need to provide this additional sample – should the results of this sample register above the predetermined threshold, the event is logged and an alarm sounds to notify drivers they need to stop and turn off the vehicle. The Ignition Interlock does not stop the vehicle when in motion. These additional samples are used to help prevent a third party from providing the initial breath sample in order to start the vehicle.
When is Using an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Oregon?
Courts in the state of Oregon have authorized the installation and use of Ignition Interlock device for certain individuals convicted of drinking and driving offenses or DUI. A judge can order a driver to get an Interlock as a means for individuals to have an OR driver’s license reinstated after it has been suspended due to their DUI conviction. Situations where a car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock is authorized in Oregon may include:
1. First time DUI offenders: Offenders must operate a vehicle equipped with an IID for a period of one year after their driver’s license suspension period is over.
2. Second or other repeat DUI offenders: Offenders must operate a vehicle equipped with an Interlock for a period of two years after their driver’s license suspension period is over.
Who Will Have to Pay For the Full Cost of the Ignition Interlock Device?
In almost all DUI cases in the state of Oregon that result in offenders being authorized to use an Ignition Interlock, offenders are responsible for all costs associated with using the device. Offenders should expect to pay around $100 to have the device professionally installed to the state’s standards and to pay between $75 and $120 a month to lease the device. These, however, are just rough cost estimates – OR Interlock providers have a variety of prices based on location, and some companies offer free installation for devices leased from them.
What is the Process Having To Install an Ignition Interlock Device in Oregon?
When DUI offenders have been authorized to use an Ignition Interlock in OR, the court often gives them a deadline in which they need to acquire the device and have it installed. First, individuals need to lease the device from a state approved IID provider – Oregon state approved IID providers can be found all across the state, and a full list of approved providers can also be found on the Oregon DMV website. It is important to lease the device from a state approved company in order to remain within the set guidelines for IID use.
Once the car Breathalyzer Interlock device has been leased from one of these state approved providers, individuals also have to ensure the IID is professionally installed to the state’s standards. In most cases, a state approved IID provider is also able to install the device to the state’s standards. After this process is completed, it may be required for individuals to report back to their probation officer, the judge, the court, and/or the DMV to alert them of the device’s installation. In some cases, they may also need to provide proof of installation. After a OR Ignition Interlock attorney reviews a person’s own DUI circumstances online with us, the local Oregon lawyer who analyzes the details of what occurred, can then discuss with a driver about any potential defense options for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock device installed in:[column col=”1/4″]Baker County
Hood River County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Canby
City of The Dalles
Deschutes River Woods
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Monmouth