Information on The Ignition Interlock Device Law in Big Wyoming
Jackson, Laramie, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Casper, Gillette, Riverton, Rock Springs, and all other cities in the state of Wyoming have the same WY Ignition Interlock device laws when it comes to the criminal act of being convicted of DUI charges and related offenses. When drivers are discovered to be operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, they are arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). The penalties for being convicted of this crime often include a driver’s license suspension, fines, possible jail time, and the possibility of having to put an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on any car a person will be driving.
The effects of alcohol consumption on an individual’s ability to drive have been studied by government researchers – these studies unveiled that most individuals are too impaired to drive when their BAC reaches 0.05 percent and that all individuals are too impaired to drive when their BAC reaches 0.08 percent. This research is one of the many reasons most states, including Wyoming, have adopted the 0.08 percent BAC as grounds for being charged with drinking and driving related crimes. Additionally, the state of Wyoming charges commercial drivers with BACs of 0.04 percent and minors with BACs of 0.02 percent with DUI.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Wyoming?
The state of Wyoming has a number of penalties for those who are charged and then convicted of DUI. The number and variety of penalties used to punish those guilty of this crime are a means to discourage offenders from repeating the offense as well as acting as an example for those who are considering or may have been drinking and driving in the past but did not get caught. For a 1st time DUI offender in the state of WY, or those with no previous DUI convictions on their record, face some if not all of the following penalties:
- 90 Day Driver’s License Suspension
- Fines Up to $750
- Jail Sentence Up to Six Months
- WY DUI Interlock device Required for Offenders with BACs of 0.15 Percent or More
Wyoming currently enforces a 10-year “look-back” or “washout” period when previous DUI convictions can be considered in an offender’s current sentencing. Second time DUI offenders, or those with one previous DUI conviction on their record within the last 10 years, face some if not all of the following penalties:
- 1 Year WY Driver’s License Suspension
- Fines of $250 to $750
- Jail Sentence of Seven Days to Six Months
- IID Required
Third offense DUI drivers in WY, or those with two previous DUI convictions on their record within the last 10 years, face some if not all of the following penalties:
- Three Year Driver’s License Suspension
- Fines of $750 to $3,000
- Jail Sentence of One to Six Months
- Car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock Device Required For 2 Years On Average
Fourth time DUI offenders, or those with three previous DUI convictions on their record within the last 10 years, face some if not all of the following penalties:
- Varied Driver’s License Suspension
- Fines Up to $10,000
- Jail Sentence Up to Two Years
- Ignition Interlock Will Be Required for a Lifetime
What is an Ignition Interlock Device in WY, and How Does It Work?
An Ignition Interlock device in Wyoming works as a mechanical and electrical device that operates in the same way as a Breathalyzer device. An IID is mounted to the dashboard of a vehicle and is used by DUI and other drinking and driving related offenders who wish to have their driving privileges reinstated. The DUI Interlock is used to help prevent previous drinking and driving offenders from drinking and driving again by requiring them to provide a breath sample before they can start and operate their vehicle.
Before the vehicle can be started, the user needs to blow into the device to provide the breath sample. The Car Breathalyzer Interlock analyzes the sample and determines the driver’s BAC. Should the driver’s BAC be above the predetermined threshold, usually set to 0.02 percent, the vehicle is not able to start, and the event is logged into the device’s internal memory. Should the driver’s breath sample register below the predetermined threshold, he or she is able to start and operate the vehicle normally.
When is Using an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Wyoming?
The state of Wyoming has authorized the use of IIDs for those drivers convicted of DUI or other drinking and driving related offenses in the following 4 types of DUI case situations:
- First time DUI offenders in WY with BACs of 0.15 percent or more must use an Interlock for a period of six months.
- Second time DUI offenders with a previous offense in the last 10 years must use an car Breathalyzer for a period of one year.
- Third time DUI offenders with previous offenses in the last 10 years must use an IID for a period of two years.
- Fourth time Wyoming DUI offenders with previous offenses in the last 10 years must use an Ignition Interlock device indefinitely but may appeal in court after use for five years.
Who is Responsible for Paying for All Costs of the WY Car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock Device?
In the majority of Wyoming DUI cases where offenders are authorized to use an car Breathalyzer Interlock device, offenders are responsible for all costs associated with this process. Individuals should be prepared to pay around $100 to have the IID installed in their vehicle and to pay between $75 and $120 a month in order to lease the device. It is important to note these are just rough cost estimates, and some Ignition Interlock providers may charge more or less.
What is the Process of Having to Install an Ignition Interlock Device in Wyoming?
After DUI offenders have been authorized to get an Interlock device installed in WY, they need to begin the process of obtaining the device and having it installed. It is important for offenders to ensure they are leasing their IID from a provider who is approved by the state of Wyoming – these providers can be found all across the state, and a full list of state approved IID providers can be found on the Wyoming Department of Transportation website.
Once offenders have leased the device from a state approved provider, they also need to ensure the device is installed in their vehicle to the state’s standards – more often than not, state approved IID providers have also been approved to install the devices as well. Once the device is installed and operational, offenders likely need to report back to the court, their probation officer, and/or the DMV to notify them the device is in use. At this time, the offender’s driving privileges are reinstated as long as he or she is using the IID. Once a Wyoming Ignition Interlock attorney reviews a person’s own DUI arrest events online with us as to what exactly happened, the local lawyer can then be able to lay out of which options are possible for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock device in:[column col=”1/4″]Albany County
Big Horn County
Hot Springs County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Afton
Antelope Valley Crestview
Fox Farm College
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Granger
Moose Wilson Road
North Rock Springs
Rafter J Ranch
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Rawlins
Star Valley Ranch