Information on the Ignition Interlock Device Requirement in The Green Mountain State of VT
Burlington, Rutland City, Montpelier, South Burlington, Brattleboro, Bennington, and all other cities and towns in the state of Vermont have the same DUI and VT Ignition Interlock laws when it comes to drinking and driving offenses. Individuals who are driving a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more will likely be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Those found guilty or convicted of this crime face a number of punishments including fines, driver’s license suspension, jail time, and possibly having to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in order to have their VT driver’s license reinstated.
The majority of states across the US have adopted a 0.08 percent BAC as the threshold for individuals to be charged with DUI, DWI, and other driving under the influence related offenses. Research has proven that most drivers with a 0.05 percent BAC are too impaired to drive, and all drivers are too impaired to drive with a BAC of 0.08 percent, hence the threshold used by so many states. Additionally, the state of Vermont can charge commercial vehicle drivers with DUI with a BAC of 0.04 percent. When a driver can have their arrest examined online with us as soon as possible afterwards, getting this essential help can provide a person with the best defense strategies that could possibly prevent the Ignition Interlock requirement in VT, as well as potentially avoid a suspended driver’s license.
What Are the Most Common Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Vermont?
There are numerous penalties for drivers convicted of DUI or DWI charges in the state of Vermont. These punishments are meant to discourage offenders from drinking and driving again, which not only risks their safety and lives, but the safety and lives of other drivers and pedestrians. Additionally, these punishments act as a deterrent for other individuals who have not had a drinking and driving charge but may have a future tendency to do so. First time DUI offenders in the state of Vermont, or those with no previous offenses, face some, if not all, of the following penalties:
- Up to Two Years in Jail
- Fines Up to $750
- VT Driver’s License Suspension of 90 Days
- Installing an Ignition Interlock Device For a Minimum of Six Months to One Year
The state of Vermont currently holds a lifetime lookback period in which DUI convictions can be used during the offender’s current DUI sentencing. Repeat offenders face harsher penalties than those on their first DUI offense. Convicted second DUI offense driver’s in the state of Vermont, or those with one previous offense, face some, if not all, of the following penalties:
- Up to Two Years in Jail
- Maximum Fines of $1,500
- Driver’s License Suspension of 18 Months
- Mandatory Ignition Interlock Requirement For At Least 1 Year
Third time DUI offenders in the state of Vermont, or those with two previous offenses, face some, if not all, of the following penalties:
- Maximum Five Years in Jail
- Maximum Fines of $2,500
- Lifetime Driver’s License Suspension
What is an Ignition Interlock Device and How Does It Work With New VT DUI Laws?
An IID is a device that is mounted in a DUI offender’s vehicle and integrates with the vehicle’s ignition system. In Vermont, this device works in the same way as a Breathalyzer device used to determine blood alcohol content levels. Should offenders wish to start their vehicle, they need to blow into the Ignition Interlock device in order to provide a breath sample. Should this sample read above the device’s threshold – usually 0.02 percent – the Interlock prevents the vehicle from starting. Should the sample read below the device’s threshold, the vehicle starts normally.
A Car Breathalyzer Interlock device in VT can also be programmed to require random resampling while the vehicle is in motion – this is used to prevent another individual from providing the initial sample and allow offenders to drive while intoxicated. Should the resample read above the device’s threshold, the event is logged in the IID’s memory and an alarm sounds, indicating the vehicle needs to be parked and turned off. If the vehicle is already in motion, the Ignition Interlock does not shut the vehicle off, as this may cause additional danger to the driver and others on the road.
When is Using an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Vermont?
The state of Vermont has authorized the use of the Ignition Interlock for specific drivers convicted of driving under the influence offenses including DUI and DWI, whether it is for alcohol, illegal drugs, or even some prescribed medications. The court allows the installation, maintenance, and use of an IID as a condition of having the offender’s driving privileges reinstated. This can be authorized in the following two types of DUI offense situations:
- When a DUI offender’s BAC was 0.15 percent or more, they must install an IID with a GPS.
- First time and subsequent DUI offenders are qualified for IIDs after they have served at least half of their designated driver’s license suspension.
Who is Responsible for Paying for What the Total Cost is For a VT Ignition Interlock Device?
In cases where VT DUI & DWI offenders are eligible to get an Ignition Interlock device in order to have their driver’s license restored, it is offenders’ responsibility to pay all costs associated with obtaining and using the device. In order to lease an car Breathalyzer Interlock, individuals should expect to pay between $75 and $120 a month in fees. Additionally, it often costs upwards of $100 to have the device installed in an individual’s vehicle. It is important to keep in mind, however, that these are just rough cost estimates, and IID providers may charge more or less to lease the device or even offer free installation.
What is the Process of Having to Install an Ignition Interlock Device in Vermont?
After a convicted offender of driving under the influence has been authorized to use a DUI Interlock device in Vermont, they need to work with a state approved IID provider in order to lease the device. These providers can be found all across the state of Vermont, and a full list of state approved IID providers can be found on the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles website. Working with a state approved IID provider is important to ensure that the device is within the state’s guidelines, which is crucial for making sure offenders have their driver’s license reinstated.
After the car Breathalyzer Interlock device has been leased, it needs to be installed in the offender’s vehicle and possibly any other vehicle registered in his or her name. This IID needs to be professionally installed again to the state’s standard in order to ensure the offender’s driver’s license is reinstated. Once the device has been installed, a copy of the Interlock lease agreement and a copy of the receipt from the installation likely needs to be provided to the offender’s probation officer, the court, and/or the Department of Motor Vehicles. Should everything check out to the state’s regulations for IIDs, offenders have their driver’s license reinstated, and they have the ability to drive their vehicle as long as it is equipped with the device. After a VT Ignition Interlock lawyer reviews a person’s own DUI arrest online with us, the local Vermont attorney who analyzes the information can then know which potential ways are available for how to avoid having to get an Ignition Interlock device installed in:[column col=”1/4″]Addison County
Grand Isle County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Albany
Chester Chester Depot
Graniteville East Barre
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Jericho
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]South Barre
White River Junction