Information on the Ignition Interlock Device in the Pine Tree State of ME
Bangor, Augusta, Lewiston, Portland, Bar Harbor, and all other ME cities and towns in the state have the same Maine Ignition Interlock laws regarding rules and regulations when it comes to DUI and OUI charge offenses. Drivers who are found to be operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Operating Under the Influence (OUI). Government research has proven most individuals are too impaired to drive when their BAC registers at 0.05 percent, and all individuals are too impaired when their BAC registers at 0.08 percent.
Additionally, commercial vehicle operators with a BAC of 0.04 percent can be charged with DUI or OUI. Maine enforces a zero tolerance policy for minors – those under 21 years old – which means any indication of alcohol use, regardless of BAC, is grounds for being charged. Those who are convicted of DUI or Operating Under the Influence (OUI) face a number of different penalties. These punishments include time in jail, having to pay high monetary fines, having to submit to a license suspension, and using an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). In order to be successful at exploring ways how to avoid a driver’s license suspension and Ignition Interlock device consequences in ME, a person should have their DUI arrest details examined by us online as soon as possible for options.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Maine?
Individuals charged and convicted of either DUI or OUI face a number of punishments for their crime. These penalties are used to discourage offenders and others from partaking in drinking and driving behaviors in the future. First time DUI & OUI offenders in Maine can face punishments, such as:
- 30 Days in Jail
- Fines Equaling $500
- 90 Day ME Driver’s License Suspension
- Having to Get an Ignition Interlock Device Installed
Second time offenders, or those with a ME DUI or OUI conviction within the last 10 years, face harsher penalties. The punishments they face include:
- 6 Months in Jail
- Fines Equaling $1,000
- Three Year License Suspension Length of Time
- Having to Use an Ignition Interlock For a Minimum of 1 Year
Third time Maine offenders, or those with two DUI or OUI convictions within the last 10 years, face even harsher penalties. The punishments these offenders face include:
- Nine Months and One Day in Jail
- Minimum Fines of $1,000
- Six Year Suspended Driver’s License Length of Time
- Having to Install and Use an Ignition Interlock Device For 2 Years or More
Does Maine Enforce an Implied Consent Law for OUI?
When it comes to drinking and driving offenses, Maine also enforces an “implied consent law” for OUI. Under this DUI law, those who hold a driver’s license in the state of Maine automatically consent to chemical testing when their BAC needs to be determined after a traffic stop and arrest. This testing can include blood, breath, or urine testing. Although a person does have the right to refuse a DUI test, they face a number of penalties and punishments for doing so including an automatic license suspension. A driver who is convicted or pleads guilty, will also likely have to get an Ignition Interlock device installed in order to be able to legally drive in Maine when a driver gets their license back.
First time OUI offenders who refuse testing to determine BAC pay a fine and also have their driver’s license suspended for a period of 275 days. Repeat offenders face longer suspensions – second time DUI/OUI offenders pay a fine and have their ME driver’s license suspended for a period of 18 months, and third time offenders who refuse testing also pay a fine but have their driver’s license suspended for a period of four years. A DUI interlock will be required in Maine for at least 2 years on average when a person has a repeat DUI or OUI offense on their criminal record.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device and How Does It Work With Maine OUI & DUI Laws?
Depending on the circumstances surrounding a OUI case in ME, it may be possible for individuals to be authorized to use an Ignition Interlock device as a means to get their Maine driver’s license reinstated during a license suspension. In general terms, an OUI interlock works much like a traditional Breathalyzer device that links to the car’s ignition system. This car Breathalyzer Ignition Interlock device is often mounted on the dashboard of any vehicle registered to the offender.
Once an interlock is installed, it is calibrated with a predetermined threshold for BAC, which is usually 0.02 percent. Before a driver can operate the car, they must blow into the device to have their blood alcohol content registered. Should the test read below the predetermined threshold, offenders can start the vehicle and operate it as normal, but in cases where the offender’s BAC registers above the predetermined threshold, the device locks the vehicle’s ignition system, and offenders are unable to drive their car.
When is Having to Use an Ignition Interlock Device Required in the State of Maine?
The state of Maine has laws that govern when an Ignition Interlock can be authorized in order to reinstate a DUI or OUI offender’s driver’s license. In this state, an IID can be authorized in the following 4 situations:
- Driver’s with two DUI/OUI offenses can be authorized to use an Ignition Interlock device after serving nine months of their driver’s license suspension – they must use the device for two years.
- Those with one DUI/OUI offense can be authorized to use an OUI interlock after serving 30 days of their driver’s license suspension – they must use the device for 150 days or the length of time remaining on their license suspension.
- Individuals with three DUI/OUI offenses can be authorized to use an IID after serving three years of their driver’s license suspension – they must use the device for three year
- A person with four or more DUI/OUI offenses can be authorized to have an Ignition Interlock after serving four years of their driver’s license suspension – they must use the device for four years .
Who is Responsible for Paying for the Costs the ME Ignition Interlock Device?
In almost every case in the state of Maine, OUI and DUI offenders are responsible for paying the costs associated with using an Ignition Interlock, which includes the installation and lease of the device. Most interlock providers charge around $100 for the installation of the device, and individuals should expect to pay anywhere between $70 and $125 a month in lease payments. Keep in mind these numbers vary between interlock providers, and a select few may offer free installation in certain circumstances.
What is the Process of Getting an Ignition Interlock Device in Maine?
When IID authorization has been granted, OUI offenders need to obtain the device and have it installed by a ME approved provider. There are a number of state approved Ignition Interlock device providers across Maine, and a full list of these organizations can be found on Maine BMV website. Once an approved IID provider has been located, DUI/OUI offenders need to work with this company to lease the interlock device and have it installed.
Once the DUI interlock has been leased and installed, offenders likely need to report back to the judge, court, or their probation officer in order for the usage period to officially begin. In most cases, individuals need to provide a copy of the IID lease agreement as well as a copy of the receipt from the device’s installation in order to satisfy the court that the process was completed. When a Maine Ignition Interlock attorney reviews a person’s own arrest information online with us, they can then be able to help a driver learn of any possible options for how to avoid having to get and install an Ignition Interlock device in:[column col=”1/4″]Androscoggin County
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Anson
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Greenville
Little Falls South Windham
Mars Hill Blaine
Old Orchard Beach
[/column] [column col=”1/4″]Oxford