Aside from the social stigma, inconvenience, and financial burden getting a DWI in Texas can cost a person, a drinking and driving conviction comes with a heavy price tag of TX DWI costs, fees, and penalties. It is an offense to drive, attempt to drive, or be in charge of any vehicle on a road or public place in Texas if the level of alcohol, drugs, or medication in your breath, blood or urine exceeds the prescribed limit or .08 BAC, and can therefore be charged with the high cost of a DWI on Texas.
These links below will navigate you to the specific type of case which pertains to your own situation, and the instructions needed to effectively dismiss this particular charge at your court date. Additionally, defendants concerned with Texas DWI lawyer costs and high legal fees can connect with local pro bono DWI attorney specialists in Texas – who will often fight a case at little or no cost when lawyer affordability is a true issue for a person choosing to fight the charges in court.
- BAC/Drug Blood Test Results Case
- Blowing Over the Legal Alcohol Limit Case
- Refusal to Blow or Take Sobriety Tests Case
In addition to the risk involved to others on the road, those who are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) will face a series of expensive costs and fines to regain the privilege of having a driver’s license. However if you take the proper courses of action and get the proper help in time in fighting a Texas DWI case as we help explain, it still may be possible for you to drastically minimize the severe DUI/DWI penalties and costs involved when a drunk driving conviction can potentially be avoided or dismissed altogether.
When we can review an arrest for defense tips in enough time before your next court date, it increases the chances of charges getting dropped and avoiding a license suspension at the DMV hearing that comes up first in Texas.
Also Read: First DWI in Texas – How to Get It Dropped or Reduced and What to Expect for the Cost of a Lawyer
What are the first DWI costs and fines in Texas I will face?
In 2022 following a DUI/DWI arrest offense charge in Texas, you will first have to post bail, ranging from several hundred to several thousand dollars, which will be returned to you minus the nonrefundable DWI fees if you appear as scheduled in court. Penalties you may also have to pay will be towing and impound fees to get your car back after a drunk or drugged driving charge. This towing/impound expense will likely cost a minimum additional fee of $100 to $200 just to get your car back.
Upon conviction of a DUI in TX, you will pay a high fine, which can run from hundreds to thousands of dollars, including additional court costs or Ignition Interlock Device fees. For example, the fines for a first-time DUI/DWI offense in Texas is up to $2000, and up to as high as $10,000 if there was a passenger younger than 15 years of age in the vehicle.
Drunk driving and driving under the influence (DUI) in TX contributes significantly to injury and loss of life on the road. The operation of any motor vehicle in Texas legally requires the driver have a blood alcohol concentration under the legal limit of .08 %. A DUI offense can not only have deadly effects and cause suffering of individuals and their families, but perhaps not so well-known is the actual financial cost of a DWI who is convicted for even a first offense in Texas. The following information, itemizes the cost of a DUI involved in a first-time DUI/DWI offense conviction in Texas:
Texas DUI Fees List
TX DUI Attorney Costs (estimated range)
Criminal DUI/DWI Fines
Texas DUI/DWI Classes (estimate)
License Reinstatement Fee
Increased Insurance Rates (estimate)
Ignition Interlock Fees (estimate)[/column]
Minimum First-Time Texas DUI Cost Total*
(plus applicable taxes on some items)
ACTUAL COST OF A DUI IN TEXAS MAY BE HIGHER
*Other potential Texas DUI costs include property damage, loss of employment income and insured and uninsured medical costs.
Texas fights driving under the influence offenses through some of the toughest laws, programs, and DUI/DWI costs in the country, including:
• License suspension
• High fines, fees, and costs for a DUI in TX if convicted
• Longer drivers license suspension periods
• Mandatory alcohol/DUI education classes and treatment program
• Vehicle impound fees
• Ignition Interlock Device program
Ignition Interlock Cost In Texas For A First DUI Offense
For even a first-time DUI offense in Texas, an Ignition Interlock Device and the cost for installation and maintenance of the device, is often part of the strict state DWI penalties for a driver charged with driving under the influence or intoxicated. An Ignition Interlock Device is a machine that records your blood alcohol content (BAC) and allows the car to start only if your BAC is below a set limit. Ignition Interlock Device installation in Texas typically will cost $100 to $200, and the monthly rental fees range from $70 to $100. Regular maintenance and calibration will cost extra.
What Is The Cost Of A Second Or Third DUI Offense In Texas?
The penalties and DUI costs in Texas for driving while intoxicated are based on several factors, including a judge’s interpretation of the specific facts of each case. Fines and jail terms can also be affected by whether any bodily harm , property damage, or dangerous driving resulted from the driver’s actions.
A first DUI conviction in TX already has a high costs and fines, along with the potential of a license suspension. A second DUI offense in Texas within a 10 year period will increase the serious penalties and costs, plus a possible prison term and an extension of suspension time of your drivers license.
A third DUI conviction in TX builds upon second offense DUI costs penalties. The revocation of your driving license is typically indefinite from a minimum of 10 years or permanently. Since laws and cost of a DUI/DWI in Texas and throughout the country are always becoming more severe, many judges can give additional penalties for repeat multiple DWI-related offenses.
What are some common additional Texas DUI costs?
Some other common consequences may increase the financial burden of DUI costs in Texas above the $10,000 to $15,000 in many cases, after the total TX DUI cost amount is accumulated. A person charged and convicted in TX could lose their job, particularly if the occupation requires driving, and especially if a CDL license is needed. Also some additional DWI costs to consider, a conviction could affect the status of your professional license to practice medicine or fly a plane.
People who are fortunate enough to keep their current employment status, could still lose valuable work time by having to carry out the requirements of lengthy or multiple court appearances, Texas DUI classes, community service, counseling and jail. If you’re unable to get a temporary hardship license that would allow you to drive to and from work while your license is suspended, you’ll have to factor in the additional cost of transportation to work or school.
A DUI/DWI in Texas could also impact future employment opportunities, as a drunk driving offense charge conviction will be a matter of public record. A potential employer can find that information in a background check, and further complicate the difficulties of finding new work. Many people don’t fully understand the true total cost of a DUI in Texas, such as this example of the personal cost of reputation and future opportunities, until they are face with it.
However if you are currently still fighting a driving under the influence case, there hope and help on this website that can assist you in potentially avoiding this negative outcome by learning how the facts about your own arrest details could be used to your benefit and defense.
Texas DUI And Costs Frequently Asked Questions
Should I just plead guilty to a TX driving under the influence charge?
No, you should not automatically plead guilty for a Texas DUI arrest charge offense until you can consult with a skilled attorney or legal counsel, and they can have a chance to review your arrest details to find potential strengths and courses of defense action to help fight your case.
Pleading guilty to a DWI offense would result in a full loss of the case and you would likely face all of the severe consequences and DUI costs associated with being convicted with a first DWI.
What are the consequences and cost of pleading guilty or losing my case and being charged with a TX DUI, over .08 or a DUI Refusal?
A BAC over .08, and a DUI refusal all have serious consequences if convicted. Some of these include receiving a criminal conviction for life and record of photo’s and fingerprints, drivers license suspension, high Texas DUI cost of monetary penalties/fines, installation of an ignition interlock system in your vehicle at your expense, possible higher insurance rates which can have premiums between $5000 to over $10,000/year for several years, denied entry into Canada and other countries abroad, difficulty with future employment with a criminal record, etc.
What are the chances of winning a Texas DUI/DWI case, and what will likely be the end result of my case and total cost of a DUI arrest case in TX?
No attorney can guarantee success and guarantee a result for a DUI or any other legal matter, and it should be cautioned that any person or website that claims otherwise, should not be considered as reliable or trustworthy resources. Consulting with an attorney in from your area that specializes in Texas DUI charges, is always your best help for fighting your charges, as well as helping you with knowing what to expect your particular TX DUI case to cost.
An experienced DUI lawyer will have a track record to dismiss or plea bargain a good majority of their cases, and don’t just look to take the easy way out at your expense. A skilled DUI attorney strives to fully dismiss their clients of DUI charges by in some cases, taking Texas DUI/DWI cases to trial. A full acquittal or dismissal of a DUI in TX would mean you are “not guilty” and would not face any of the consequences or severe costs of a DUI/DWI in Texas as mentioned above.
If a good DUI attorney believes your case will likely not win at trial, they often will attempt to plea bargain the charge down to a reduced charge of something less severe as a TX DUI. This would also be considered a successful result, as the cost and penalties are generally not as high as a Texas drunk driving or DUI/DWI conviction.
How much will a DUI case cost in Texas to fight?
Every DUI/DWI case is different, and unique in the circumstances of what took place during their own arrest for a Texas DUI, so taking advantage of having us your arrest details professionally examined online free through our site, can help you in finding your Texas DUI defense options, as well as knowing how much to expect your TX DUI case to cost fighting. After reviewing your own particular arrest details of what happened, most DUI attorneys can help lower the immediate Texas DUI costs by offering you flexible payments and financing options to help with paying for fees for your DUI/DWI defense in TX.
Do I have to pay the full legal fees or costs for a good Texas DUI attorney upfront?
Every attorney is different in how they handle DUI fees and costs for fighting a DUI/DWI in Texas, however most will offer flexible financing and payment plans for typically up to six months.
Can I get a free DUI consultation, or free case review online to know how much my DUI case will cost in Texas?
Yes, we have made the process simple through our site to get a free quote of what to expect a DUI to cost in Texas for your unique case. A free online consultation by a skilled attorney in your area through us, will help you by discussing your potential defense options and possible strengths in your case, especially if mistakes or errors took place during your arrest that can be used to your advantage.
What defenses can be uses to win my case and help avoid further DUI costs and fees in Texas?
There are many different defenses we can use to defend your case, and potentially avoid further DUI costs of a DUI/DWI conviction in TX, but only an experienced DUI attorney from your area can advise you on exact DUI defenses and courses of action to take, after they have the chance to review the details of your arrest of what took place during your particular DUI arrest.
How are DUI attorney specialists different from a general practice lawyer?
A Texas DUI attorney specialist is different from other lawyers because they exclusively practice DUI defense and specializes in drunk driving DUI charges in Texas. This means they will not handle other areas of law such as divorce, family law, minor traffic tickets, personal injury, etc.
Why should I hire a DUI attorney specialist in Texas?
A TX DUI attorney specialist is a criminal lawyer that specializes in fighting DUI charges in Texas.
This unique experience in the constantly changing and complex area of Texas DUI law, gives them the insight to know which Texas DUI defenses are best and most likely lead to winning a Texas DUI case, and therefore possibly prevent the further high cost of a DUI in Texas if a conviction can be avoided.
A TX DUI attorney specialist is typically well known throughout the local court by judges, prosecutors, and police officers.
How To Get The Best TX DUI/DWI Defense Options, And Possibly Avoid The High Cost Of A Texas DUI Conviction Or Guilty Plea
The main issue of fighting a Texas DUI case, is if the prosecution can successfully prove whether your ability to operate your vehicle was impaired by alcohol or drugs. For a DUI conviction in TX, the prosecutor must prove the details of its case as well as demonstrate that proper procedures were followed by police officers and other authorities during your arrest. This is precisely why the details of what took place during your arrest becomes crucial and can potentially be turned to your favor and used to help your case, and possibly avoid further Texas DUI/DWI costs, fees, fines, and penalties.
By first having your arrest details reviewed through us free online, a top attorney from your area will look at all of the facts and help find the best defense options based on any flaws in the evidence collected, or any possible violations of your rights.
Depending on the Texas DWI offense charge:
• Was your blood alcohol actually over .08 BAC legal limit in Texas at the time you were driving or about to drive?
• Was your ability to operate a motor vehicle impaired as a result of drinking or drugs? What is the evidence?
• Did you refuse to provide a breath sample into a roadside breathalyzer device or a breathalyzer instrument at the police station?
• Were you really in care or control of the vehicle with the intent to drive while intoxicated? Were you not driving or even in the vehicle when arrested for a DUI/DWI in Texas?
In addition, were there any violations of your rights during your DWI arrest?
Good information and not waiting or hesitating to take action by having your arrest details carefully examined through us by a skilled attorney from your area is the key to a successful DWI defense strategy in TX. This will best increase your chances of avoiding the severe consequences of this offense case conviction, and possibly avoid further Texas fees, fines, and high cost of a DWI in:
Deaf Smith County
El Paso County
Fort Bend County
Jeff Davis County
Jim Hogg County
Jim Wells County
La Salle County
Live Oak County
Palo Pinto County
Red River County
San Augustine County
San Jacinto County
San Patricio County
San Saba County
Tom Green County
Val Verde County
Van Zandt County
Fair Oaks Ranch
Gun Barrel City
Homestead Meadows North
Homestead Meadows South
Hunters Creek Village
North Richland Hills
Rio Grande City
West University Place