What You Should Know About the Price of First-Time DUI in the Land of Enchantment
Drinking while under the influence of alcohol is dangerous not just for drivers but also for their passengers and the general public as a whole. Since drinking and driving poses such a threat to public safety, it has been made illegal in every state across the US. While the crime is the same in all states, the penalties for those who have been convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) vary, but they will ultimately have a severe and long-lasting effect on the driver’s life.
Penalties for a First-Time DUI in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico has numerous penalties it uses to punish those who have been convicted of Driving Under the Influence even if it is a first offense. First-time DUI offenders in this state likely face the following:
- Up to 90 Days in Jail
- Fines Up to $500
- Driver’s License Suspension of Up to One Year
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Required
While the fines for committing DUI in New Mexico may seem manageable, there are other financial burdens that those who are found guilty must be prepared for. For example, if drivers spend significant time in jail, they need to contend with a loss of wages or possibly losing their job for missing work. Additionally, drivers are often responsible for the cost of installing and maintaining an IID, which is required in New Mexico for individuals to get their license back.
Other Costs of First-Time DUI
When individuals are being charged with their first DUI, they often want to fight the charges in court to keep the conviction off their record. To do this effectively, drivers will want to hire a good DUI lawyer for the state of New Mexico. These legal professionals charge a fee for their services and increase the chances of the driver succeeding, but it is important to remember that hiring a lawyer does not guarantee success. It is possible for drivers to still be convicted, meaning they must pay their penalties and their lawyer.
Those individuals who are convicted of Driving Under the Influence will also see a dramatic change to their car insurance rates. Being convicted of DUI tells insurance companies that the driver has a higher risk of getting into an accident and making a claim, meaning the company will charge the driver more for his or her insurance coverage to offset the increased risk. While all car insurance companies increase DUI offenders’ annual rates differently, drivers in New Mexico can expect a $600 increase on average.
- 12 Things To Ask Your DUI Lawyer, For More Possible Ways How To Beat A DUI Arrest Charge Case - January 13, 2019
- Is a Public Defender Any Good for Challenging or Taking On a DUI-Related Court Case? - January 12, 2019
- Is There Any Way to Avoid a License Suspension After a DUI Charge? - January 9, 2019
- How likely is it for a DUI or DWI to get reduced to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving? - January 6, 2019
- Can I Be Fired for a DUI Arrest Charge or Conviction? - January 1, 2019
- Why Bartenders Call New Year’s Eve “Amateur Night” - December 20, 2018
- What to Do When You Have Been Falsely Charged With an Unjust DUI Offense Arrest - November 28, 2018
- Can a DUI get Dismissed if the Officer Did Not Read My Rights During the Arrest? - April 17, 2018
- If I am Convicted or Plead Guilty to a First DUI or DWI Offense, Can it be Expunged Later? - April 14, 2018
- Where Can I Get Help Paying for a DUI Attorney? - March 18, 2018