There are a number of different ways in which a person can determine what is the total cost of a DUI in Michigan. The total cost of a MI drunk driving attorney varies depending on the lawyer used. 2021 Michigan DUI/DWI/OWI costs vary because of the exact local attorney fees and payment plan options, the criminal charges and the details of the case and what took place during your particular arrest, and then determining strategies based on your arrest details how to fight the case successfully.
Another major factor in determining what the total overall financial costs of DUI, OWI will be, is the possible utilization of nearby pro bono legal services for OWI provided by various top Michigan lawyer organizations throughout the state.
Aside from the social stigma, inconvenience, and financial burden getting a DUI in Michigan can cost a person, a driving under the influence conviction comes with a heavy price tag of legal costs, fees, and penalties. It is an considered a DUI offense to drive, attempt to drive, or be in charge of any vehicle on a road or public place in Michigan if the level of alcohol, drugs, or medication in your breath, blood or urine exceeds the prescribed limit or .08 BAC, and can therefore be charged with the high cost of a DUI on Michigan.
These helpful DUI defense links below will navigate you to the specific type of case which pertains to your own situation, and the instructions needed to effectively dismiss this particular charge at your court date.
- BAC/Drug Blood Test Results Case
- Blowing Over the Legal Alcohol Limit Case
- Refusal to Blow or Take Sobriety Tests Case
In addition to the risk involved to others on the road, those who are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) face a series of Michigan DUI costs and fines to regain the privilege of driving. However if you take the proper courses of action and get the proper help in time in fighting a MI DUI case as we help explain, it still may be possible for you to drastically minimize the severe MI DUI/DWI costs and penalties involved when a drunk or drugged driving conviction can potentially be avoided or dismissed altogether.
2021 Average Drunk Driving Costs and Fees in Michigan To Expect
MI DUI Attorney fees: $500-$10,000
Court Costs: $25-$1500
Michigan DUI fines: $1600 for a first offense on average.
(Second DUI offense can range from a $4000 fine and up, and a third DUI offense a $10,000 fine)
DUI classes in alcohol education: $50-$185
Factors that Affect MI DUI Penalties, Costs, and Fines
Fines and MI DUI costs for bail may also fluctuate depending on any previous record the accused may have and the District Attorney’s recommendation. If another person is hurt or killed due to the direct result of you driving under the influence, expect additional Michigan DUI/DWI/OWI penalties and costs to incur. Expect to pay a collective total fine of up to $10,000 even for a first DUI offense in Michigan, once all the costs are added up.
Intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter are much more complicated cases than straightforward DUI/DWI cases. Therefore, in addition to stiffer Michigan DUI fines, additional court costs and legal fees will accumulate.
How to know what a DUI in Michigan will cost
Initial Michigan DUI costs, fines, and fees
Upon a DUI arrest in Michigan, you will likely have to post bail, from several hundred to several thousand dollars, which will be returned to you minus nonrefundable fees if you appear as scheduled in court. You may also have to pay a towing and impound fee to get your car back, which is typically another $100 to $200 in MI DUI costs. If you are convicted of a DUI in Michigan, you will pay a high DUI fines, which can run from the hundreds to thousands of dollars, plus additional court costs.
The cost of Michigan DUI classes
You will be required to take a class on the dangers of a DUI in Michigan, and you’ll have to pay for it. Remedial substance abuse class starting at $50 a class and counseling fees of $200. Plus, there’s an additional Michigan DUI cost for drug and alcohol screening.
Michigan DUI License fees
Your license will be suspended, possibly for a year. To get it back, you’ll have to pay a restoration fee, $500 plus $10 for a new license; $500 for multiple DUI offenders. $50 formal hearing fee.
The cost of Michigan DUI Attorney’s fees
The fee charged by your attorney can vary by experience level, location and the complexity of the case. The cost of a DUI in Michigan can start at a minimum range of $250 just for simply entering a guilty plea, and depending on the seriousness of the DUI – the cost is typically starting at an average of $1,300 up to $25,000 when fighting the DUI charge in court with an attorney.
The Cost of Michigan DUI Insurance premiums
A DUI can increase your insurance by an average of 19%. However, the increase can vary depending on factors like where you live and your insurance company. How long you’ll pay a higher insurance rate depends on your insurance company, but generally it’s no less than three years. High risk insurance after a DUI will cost an additional average of $1,500 a year, and typically required for 3 years.
Other costs of a DUI in Michigan
Some other costs of a Michigan DUI offense charge could drive the financial drain of a MI DUI way above the $10,000 to $15,000. In a worst-case scenario, you’ll lose your job, particularly if your occupation requires driving. Those who keep their jobs could lose valuable work time attending to the requirements of court appearances, DUI school, community service, counseling and jail. If you’re unable to get a hardship permit license that would allow you to drive to and from work while your license is suspended, you’ll have to figure in additional transportation costs. A DUI in Michigan could also impact future employment. How long the offense remains on your record depends on the state, but in Michigan it is permanent. A prospective employer will find that information in a background check.
Ignition Interlock Cost In Michigan For A First DUI Offense
For even a first-time DUI offense in Michigan, an Ignition Interlock Device and the cost for installation and maintenance of the device, is often part of the strict MI DUI penalties for a driver charged with driving under the influence or intoxicated. An Ignition Interlock Device is a machine that records your blood alcohol content (BAC) and allows the car to start only if your BAC is below a set limit. Ignition Interlock Device installation in Michigan typically will cost $100 to $200, and the monthly rental fees range from $70 to $100. Regular maintenance and calibration will cost extra.
What Is The Cost Of A Second Or Third DUI/DWI/OWI Offense In Michigan?
The penalties and DUI costs in Michigan for driving while intoxicated are based on several factors, including a judge’s interpretation of the specific facts of each case. Fines and jail terms can also be affected by whether any bodily harm , property damage, or dangerous driving resulted from the driver’s actions.
A first DUI conviction in MI already has a high costs and fines, along with the potential of a license suspension. A second DUI/DWI/OWI offense in Michigan within a 10 year period will increase the serious penalties and costs, plus a possible prison term and an extension of suspension time of your drivers license. A third DUI conviction in MI builds upon second offense DUI costs penalties in Michigan. The revocation of your driving license is typically indefinite from a minimum of 10 years or permanently.
Since laws and cost of a driving under the influence in Michigan and throughout the country are always becoming more severe, many judges can give additional penalties to repeat multiple DUI offenders in Michigan.
The Cost of a Michigan DUI Offense if Defending Yourself in Court
It is strongly recommended that you retain a MI DUI attorney rather than attempting to defend yourself in court. This is necessary as a Michigan DUI attorney has the training and education to assert your legal rights appropriately in court. Without the expertise of a skilled DUI lawyer, it is difficult for a defendant to operate in court without mistakes being made in regards to speaking to the judge, prosecution, or others such as the police or possible witnesses. This can result in paying the high cost, penalties and fines of a DUI conviction in Michigan.
If you decide to defend yourself there is an advantage in saying “not guilty” and nothing more. The court still must prove that you are guilty of a DUI charge in Michigan. Therefore, by saying nothing more than “not guilty,” the prosecution is forced to prove the DUI/DWI/OWI case against you, which they may not always be able to do.
However, it should be noted that most often people who defend themselves, risk the strong possibility of hurting their case by not challenging evidence properly or by taking the stand, which could result in assisting the prosecution of their MI DUI case against you. Therefore, it is always strongly recommended that you retain an experienced Michigan DUI attorney. When successful in reducing or dismissing the MI DUI charges, it can drastically lower the cost of what a Michigan DUI conviction would have been otherwise.
What are some common additional Michigan DUI costs?
Some other common consequences may increase the financial burden of DUI costs in Michigan above the $10,000 to $15,000 in many cases, after the total Michigan DUI cost amount is accumulated. A person charged and convicted in MI could lose their job, particularly if the occupation requires driving, and especially if a CDL license is needed. Also some additional Michigan DUI costs to consider, a conviction could affect the status of your professional license to practice medicine or fly a plane.
People who are fortunate enough to keep their current employment status, could still lose valuable work time by having to carry out the requirements of lengthy or multiple court appearances, Michigan DUI classes, community service, counseling and jail. If you’re unable to get a temporary hardship license that would allow you to drive to and from work while your license is suspended, you’ll have to factor in the additional cost of transportation to work or school.
A DUI/DWI in Michigan could also impact future employment opportunities, as a MI drunk driving offense charge conviction will be a matter of public record. A potential employer can find that information in a background check, and further complicate the difficulties of finding new work. Many people don’t fully understand the true total cost of a DUI in Michigan, such as this example of the personal cost of reputation and future opportunities, until they are face with it. However if you are currently still fighting a driving under the influence case in Michigan, there hope and help on this website that can assist you in potentially avoiding this negative outcome by learning how the facts about your own arrest details could be used to your benefit and defense.
What MI DUI defenses can be uses to win my case and help avoid further DUI costs and fees in Michigan? There are many different MI DUI defenses we can use to defend your case, and potentially avoid further DUI costs of a DUI conviction in Michigan, but only an experienced DUI attorney from your area can advise you on exact DUI defenses and courses of action to take, after they have the chance to review the details of your arrest of what took place during your particular DUI arrest.
Why should I hire a DUI attorney specialist in Michigan? A MI DUI attorney specialist is a criminal lawyer that specializes in fighting DUI charges in Michigan. This unique experience in the constantly changing and complex area of Michigan DUI law, gives them the insight to know which Michigan DUI defenses are best and most likely lead to winning a Michigan DUI case, and therefore possibly prevent the further high cost of a DUI in Michigan if a conviction can be avoided.
A MI DUI attorney specialist is typically well known throughout the local court by judges, prosecutors, and police officers, which can be beneficial in possibly negotiating a lesser plea than DUI, and potentially reduce the final costs and fines if a lesser charge than DUI can be successfully agreed upon.
How To Get The Best MI DUI Defense Options, And Possibly Avoid The High Cost Of A Michigan DUI Conviction Or Guilty Plea.
The main issue of fighting a Michigan DUI case and determining the cost of a DUI in MI, is if the prosecution can successfully prove whether your ability to operate your vehicle was impaired by alcohol or drugs. For a DUI conviction in MI, the prosecutor must prove the details of its case as well as demonstrate that proper procedures were followed by police officers and other authorities during your arrest. This is precisely why the details of what took place during your arrest becomes crucial and can potentially be turned to your favor and used to help your case, and possibly avoid further Michigan DUI/DWI/OWI costs, fees, fines, and penalties.
By first having your arrest details reviewed through us free online, a skilled DUI attorney from your area will look at all of the facts and help find the best defense options based on any flaws in the evidence collected, or any possible violations of your rights.
Depending on the Michigan DUI offense charge:
• Was your blood alcohol actually over .08 BAC legal limit in Michigan at the time you were driving or about to drive?
• Was your ability to operate a motor vehicle impaired as a result of drinking or drugs? What is the evidence?
• Did you refuse to provide a breath sample into a roadside breathalyzer device or a breathalyzer instrument at the police station?
• Were you really in care or control of the vehicle with the intent to drive while intoxicated? Were you not driving or even in the vehicle when arrested for a DUI/DWI/OWI in Michigan?
In addition, were there any violations of your rights during your MI DUI arrest?
Good information and not waiting or hesitating to take action by having your arrest details carefully examined through us by a skilled DUI attorney from your area is the key to a successful DUI defense strategy in MI and potentially avoiding further DUI/DWI/OWI costs. This will best increase your chances of avoiding the severe consequences of a Michigan DUI/DWI offense case conviction, and possibly avoid more Michigan DUI fees, fines, and high costs of a DUI in:
Grand Traverse County
Presque Isle County
St Clair County
St Joseph County
Van Buren County
East Grand Rapids
Grosse Pointe Farms Grosse Pointe Park
Grosse Pointe Woods
Saginaw Township North
Saginaw Township South
Sault Ste. Marie
St. Clair Shores
West Bloomfield Township