Will I Have to Get an Ignition Interlock Device Installed After a DUI Arrest?

Updated 1/19/2019

Am I Required to Get an Ignition Interlock Device for First Conviction of DUI?

Every state has its own laws requiring a car Breathalyzer and each arrest is different, but the average length of time to expect after a first DUI or DWI is a 6 month installation of the ignition interlock device. This is another reason why an arrest review with us which is case-specific, is so critically important for accurate advice.

What is the Ignition Interlock Device Requirement?

There is never an exact same punishment for every DUI or DWI arrest, since charges or convictions are all different for each driver. The Ignition Interlock Program provides a chance for some drivers convicted of a DUI or DWI offense to legally resume driving again once the mandatory driver’s license suspension period is over.

This program requires the installation of a small electronic device into the individuals’ vehicle which will test for the presence of alcohol before the vehicle will start.

What is the cost of the Ignition Interlock?

The costs associated with the Ignition Interlock Program include, but are not limited to:

  • $163 to have the Ignition Interlock device installed
  • $2,000 is the average total cost to expect renting the Ignition Interlock device for 12 months
  • $57 on average to have the Ignition Interlock device removed

In addition to these ignition interlock costs, additional related fees may also be required:

  • Complete all hours of DUI school classes, and take any mandatory alcohol or drug counseling
  • Take a DMV test or road test to have your driver’s license reinstated afterwards
  • Car insurance rates will increase for the first 5 years after a DUI or DWI offense conviction

Where can I get an Ignition Interlock Device installed?

A driver can find ignition interlock device installation locations nearest their location. Utilize professional state certified ignition interlock device locations in your local zip code area, counties, cities and states anywhere in the country. Mobile ignition interlock installers may also be available, where mobile installers will come to your location to install the car breathalyzer system.

If you have been ordered to have an Ignition Interlock device installed, our online DUI interlock experts will provide all the information you need on Ignition Interlock devices and can provide defenses how to get around having to install one in the first place.

More Ignition Interlock Program Information

For more on the Ignition Interlock Program for a first DUI or DWI offense, an extensive overview is available here.

To obtain free online help with our expert and compassionate team at FightDUICharges about how to get around ignition interlock devices by getting a DUI dismissed, don’t hesitate to contact us today.

Are you facing a second offense DUI or DWI charge and need to fight the interlock requirement? Learn more about second DUI penalties here.

Check the list below to see the laws of your particular state:

Alabama – first time offenders can choose to install an IID instead of the 90-day mandatory suspension. Any first time offender with a BAC of .15 or higher or with a child as well as all second time offenders must have device installed for two years.

Alaska – all offenders must have an IID installed. First offenders, 6 months. Second offenders, 12 months. Third offenders, 18 months.

Arizona – all offenders are required to install an IID.

Arkansas – first offenders not eligible for restricted permit, but can have an IID restricted license. The courts may rule to have any first or second offender install an IID, and it is mandatory for all third time offenders.

California – courts may rule that any first time offender must have the IID installed. Anyone convicted for repeat offenses or a first time offender with a BAC of .15 or higher is more likely to be required to have an IID.

Colorado – first time offenders receive suspended license for nine months, but may apply for use of an IID after one month to decrease suspension. Habitual offenders are required to have the device installed.

Connecticut – any violator may be required to have an IID installed by the courts.

Delaware – anyone refusing to take a chemical test or with a BAC of .15 or higher must have an IID installed. Repeat offenders are eligible for a Class D license if they agree to use IID.

District of Columbia – device is available to all repeat offenders.

Florida – First time offenders with a child of 18 years or younger are required to have the IID installed. All repeat offenders must have the IID installed.

Georgia – all repeat offenders must have the device installed.

Hawaii – first time offenders can have device installed in lieu of a suspended license. Repeat offenders are required to use the device.

Idaho – Repeat offenders and offenders under the age of 21 are required to have an IID installed.

Illinois – all offenders must have the IID installed.

Indiana – courts may rule to have any offender be required to use the device. All repeat offenders within may be required to use the device with a probationary license.

Iowa – any offender may be required to have the device installed.

Kansas – all first offenders with a BAC of .08 or higher must use an IID. Any repeat offenders and those with three or more moving violations are required to use the device.

Kentucky – first time offenders may be required to use the device. All repeat offenders will be required to use the device.

Louisiana – all first and second offenders must use the IID.

Maine – all offenders may be required to use the device.

Maryland – any offender with a BAC of .15 or higher are required to use an IID. Courts may rule that any offender is required to use the device, with mandatory installation for fourth time or more offenders.

Massachusetts – all repeat offenders must install the IID.

Michigan – first time offenders with a BAC of .17 or more are required to use an IID. Courts may rule that any defendant be required to use the device.

Minnesota – judge may rule to have IID installed in lieu of sentencing. Repeat offenders may apply to use device for a limited license.

Mississippi – first time offenders can reduce suspension by installing device. Repeat offenders must have an IID installed.

Missouri – any offense may result in the installation of an IID.

Montana – the court will use its discretion for any first time offenders. Repeat offenders are required to use an IID.

Nebraska – limited license for first time offenders with use of device after 30-day suspension. Repeat offenders are required to have the device installed.

Nevada – courts may rule that any offender be required to have an IID installed.

New Hampshire – all offenders are subject to use an IID at the court’s discretion.

New Jersey – first time offenders with BAC of .15 or higher must have the device installed. Repeat offenders must have the device installed.

New Mexico – first time offenders must use IID for one year. Second offenders must use device for two years. Third time offenders must use the device for three years.

New York – IID required for all offenders.

North Carolina – first time offenders with a BAC of .16 or higher and repeat offenders are required to use the IID.

North Dakota – any offender may be required to use an IID.

Ohio – device required at the discretion of the courts for first and second offenders. Third and beyond offenders are required to use the device.

Oklahoma – first time offenders with a BAC of .15 or higher must use the device. Repeat offenders are all required to have an IID installed.

Oregon – all offenders required to use IID.

Pennsylvania – first time offenders are at the discretion of the courts, but all repeat offenders are required to use an IID.

Rhode Island – all repeat offenders are required to use the device.

South Carolina – first time offenders are at the discretion of the courts, but all repeat offenders are required to use an IID.

South Dakota – all offenders are at the discretion of the courts.

Tennessee – all offenders required to use IID.

Texas – first time offenders with a BAC of .15 or higher and all repeat offenders are required to use an IID.

Utah – all offenders required to use IID.

Vermont – first time offenders can use device after 30-day suspension. Second offenders can use device after 90 days of suspension. Anyone with a BAC of .16 or higher must have GPS device added to IID.

Virginia – all offenders required to use an IID.

Washington – all offenders are at the discretion of the courts.

West Virginia – first time offenders refusing to take chemical tests, in an accident, driving with a child, or with a BAC of .15 or higher as well as all repeat offenders are required to have IID installed.

Wisconsin – any first time offender with a BAC of .15 or higher as well as repeat offenders must use the device.

Wyoming – any first time offender with a BAC of .15 or higher as well as repeat offenders must use the device.

How Long Will I Have to Get an Ignition Interlock Device Installed After a DUI Arrest?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI or DWI, you will have to install an ignition interlock device (car breathalyzer) for a minimum of 6 months if you get convicted of a first offense. Knowing how to fight the ignition interlock requirement as early as possible will ensure you can get your license back quickly and without having to install the ignition interlock in every vehicle you drive for work or personal use.

If you would like to read the complete laws for all states for DUI arrests, please visit the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Taryn J. White

About Taryn J. White

Taryn J. White is a legal research specialist and DUI law news reporter. Her current accomplishments include helping those facing any driving under the influence arrest charges, get free online assistance in learning how to fight a DUI case for the best possible outcome.

Leave a Comment

Call Now
Free DUI Review